News & Events

The Commission is in the process of updating some of the content on this website in light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.

Covenant of Mayors: 32 signatories failed to submit their Sustainable Energy Action Plans on time

Share this Post:
32 Signatories of the Covenant of Mayors have failed to submit their Sustainable Energy Action Plan on time and therefore their involvement in the Covenant has been suspended. By signing the Covenant local authorities pledge to reduce CO2 emissions in their territories by more than 20% by 2020 – thereby going beyond the targets set out in the EU’s Energy and Climate Package. All of the initiative’s 2086 Signatories commit to submitting a Sustainable Energy Action Plan (SEAP) – along with a Baseline Emissions Inventory (BEI) – no more than one year after adhesion. The very credibility of the Covenant of Mayors is founded on the fulfilment of these commitments. For this reason, the European Commission enforces the Covenant’s termination clause in cases where local authorities do not comply with this first essential step towards CO2 emissions reduction.
This is not the end of the road for the 32 local authorities concerned. Their status will be re-activated at any time once they have submitted their SEAP to the Covenant of Mayors Office, thereby showing that they are willing to meet the challenge of the initiative. Once these obligations have been met they will again be considered Signatories of the Covenant of Mayors. The Covenant of Mayors Office and the European Commission strongly encourage these local authorities to submit their Action Plans and resume their active participation in the Covenant.

The involvement of the following local authorities in the Covenant of Mayors has been suspended:
  • Abano Terme (IT)
  • Alonte (IT)
  • Arcugnano (IT)
  • Arzignano (IT)
  • Barbarano Vicentino (IT)
  • Brendola (IT)
  • Campiglia dei Berici (IT)
  • Casola di Napoli (IT)
  • Castelnuovo del Garda (IT)
  • Castelnuovo di Val di Cecina (IT)
  • Chiusdino (IT)
  • Coventry (UK)
  • Cremona (IT)
  • Ferentillo (IT)
  • Ferreira do Alentejo (PT)
  • Longare (IT)
  • Montecatini Val di Cecina (IT)
  • Montecchio Maggiore (IT)
  • Monterotondo Marittimo (IT)
  • Nanto (IT)
  • Noventa Vicentina (IT)
  • Oden (ES)
  • Orgiano (IT)
  • Palmela (PT)
  • Pojana Maggiore (IT)
  • Ponta Delgada (PT)
  • Radicondoli (IT)
  • Rossano (IT)
  • Saint-Etienne (FR)
  • San Ildefonso – La Granja (ES)
  • Ulldecona (ES)
  • Villaga (IT)