News & Events

European Green Capital 2018 and European Green Leaf 2017: Finalists announced

Share this Post:

On 3 May 2016, the European Commission announced the shortlisted cities that will advance to the final stage of the European Green Capital 2018 and European Green Leaf 2017 award competitions. These cities are:


For European Green Capital:


  •  ‘s-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands
  •  Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  •  Umeå, Sweden

For European Green Leaf


  •  Cornellà de Llobregat (Spain)
  •  Galway (Ireland)
  •  Mikkeli (Finland)


EU Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, Karmenu Vella said: "I am very happy to announce the shortlisted cities for the European Green Capital Award 2018 and Green Leaf Award 2017. Each year the quality of applications grows and it is encouraging to have previously shortlisted cities reapplying and learning from the process. They can become real role models for a sustainable future, showing us how we can make cities better places to live. The next step for nominated cities will be very exciting. But in this race, it really is the taking part that counts".


The six shortlisted cities will now go forward to the next stage which involves presenting their future vision to the Jury. Shortlisted cities will need to highlight their innovations and activities for citizens, and show how they would act as a role model and promote best practices in other European cities. The winners will be announced on 22 June 2016 in Ljubljana, Slovenia, Europe's current Green Capital.



For further information, please visit the relevant European Commission website.