News & Events

The Commission is in the process of updating some of the content on this website in light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.

Roger Léron Award 2019: the jury has made its call

Share this Post:

The jury made its call, and the 3 finalists of the Roger Léron Award 2019 are finally known: congratulations to  Maria Heras Celemín (ES), Søren Hermansen (DK) and Josep Puig i Boix (ES). The final result will be disclosed during the Ceremony on 9th October at the BIP in Brussels.


This year again, rating the nominees was no easy task. The level was high, the competition fierce. All 13 nominees were truly outstanding individuals whose achievements have advanced the Energy Transition at the local, regional and EU level.


Maria del Rosario Heras Celemín is the reference in Spain for solar passive energy and bioclimatic architecture. She is the initiator and coordinator of the Master of Renewable Energy in Zamora, belonging to the prestigious University of Salamanca for more than a decade, which is a strong support for the sector of capacity skills in renewables in Castilla y León.


Søren Hermansen is the founder of the Samsø Energy Acamedy. He has been the initiator and driving force of the process that Samsoe’s community went through to become carbon negative. Today, Samsø receives thousands of visitors annually to see first-hand the process and projects that led to success.


Josep Puig i Boix is the co-founder of Ecoserveis, a not-for-profit consulting association devoted to energy efficiency, renewable energy education and promotion. As Barcelona’s City Councillor, he led the city to sign the Aalborg Charter for Sustainable Cities and to develop the Local Agenda 21.


You can discover the 10 other nominees here.


Curious to find out who will be the Roger Léron Award figure of the year? Join us at the BIP on 9 October at 18:00 for the Ceremony! 

Register to the Ceremony


About the award

The Roger Léron Award celebrates outstanding contributions to the development of sustainable energy at the EU, local and regional level. The Prize established in 2014, is named in memory of Roger Léron, a pioneer of regional energy development in Europe and one of FEDARENE’s founders. Like him, FEDARENE believes that regional and local levels of governance play a central role in energy and climate issues, through their competence in many policy areas, their proximity to citizens, their thorough knowledge of the territory. In fact, innovative actions led at the local/regional level often trigger impacts at a wider level with implications that expand well beyond the initially planned areas.


More on the Roger Léron Award