IEA 25 Energy Efficiency Policy Recommendations 2011

Share this Post:

Increasing energy efficiency is the quickest and least costly way of addressing energy security, environmental and economic challenges. To help its member countries achieve the benefits of energy efficiency across their economies, the International Energy Agency (IEA) developed (in 2008) a set of 25 energy efficiency policy recommendations for seven priority areas:

  • Cross-sectoral
  • Transport
  • Buildings
  • Industry
  • Appliances and equipment
  • Energy utilities
  • Lighting

The 25 recommendations have received high-level political and stakeholder support, and resulted in increased implementation. In order to reflect emerging priorities, the IEA, in consultation with international experts and member countries, has streamlined and updated the 25 recommendations.

The updated 25 recommendations cover a robust portfolio of policies that member and non-member countries should consider in the context of their energy economies.
This portfolio includes policies to cost-effectively increase energy efficiency by
establishing market signals to motivate effective action, accelerate the introduction
of new technologies, and strengthen and enforce minimum energy performance
standards (MEPS) for appliances, lighting, equipment and building energy codes.

Of particular interest are the following priority areas:

6 Mandatory building codes and MEPS
7 Net-zero energy consumption in buildings
8 Improved energy efficiency in existing buildings
9 Building energy labels or certificates
10 Energy performance of building components
and systems

14 Phase-out of inefficient lighting products
15 Energy-efficient lighting systems