News & Events

The Commission is in the process of updating some of the content on this website in light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.

Energy Efficiency: Commission requests eleven Member States to fully transpose the EU Energy Efficiency Directive

Share this Post:

On Thursday 22 October 2015, the European Commission, in its monthly package of infringement decisions, requested eleven Member States (Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Finland, Hungary, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, and Spain) to ensure the full transposition of the Energy Efficiency Directive (2012/27/EU).


Under this Directive, Member States must achieve energy savings from 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2020 by using Energy Efficiency Obligations Schemes and/or other targeted policy measures to drive energy efficiency improvements in households, industry buildings and transport. The Directive had to be transposed into national law by 5 June 2014.


On Thursday, the Commission sent reasoned opinions to Belgium, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Finland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, and Spain. Furthermore, the Commission identified transposition gaps in the national legislation in Bulgaria, Hungary, and Portugal, which are addressed in additional reasoned opinions. The additional reasoned opinion to Hungary replaces the Commission decision to refer this Member State to the Court of Justice of the EU. The Commission continues to monitor the implementation of the Directive and will address any shortcomings in the future.


The eleven Member States have now two months to comply with their obligations, following that the Commission may decide to refer them to the Court of Justice of the EU and ask for financial penalties.



For further information, please visit the relevant EC press release: